IN PRAISE OF SIMPLICITY
LA MAISON D'ÉTÉ

Imagine that you had a dream...

brigitte baranesOf a house perched above an unspoilt beach,nestled among the casuarinas… Of the spray of waves breaking upon a coral reef… Of an endless ocean as the only thing on the horizon…

And then that one day, that dream became a reality.… At the end of a long journey, across many seas
and oceans, I chanced upon la Maison d’Été at last. Was it providence or destiny? This was it, the house I’d always dreamed of, my very own ‘campement’ on the edge of the lagoon, as they say in Mauritius.

For five years now, la Maison d’Été has been my point of anchor, my place of reference, my home. Each and every day, my enduring bond with this island is strengthened anew. This island that, with its luxuriant nature, poetic place names and sunny and generous people, is simply unlike any other…

The Mauritian way of life, its people’s legendary kindness, and the ethnic and cultural diversity that is reflected in its extraordinary lifestyle continue to enchant me and to evoke the imaginary paradises that I dreamt up as a child. We must live our dreams and dream up our lives…

A joy that I experience every day at la Maison d’Été.

Brigitte Baranès
Homeowner

You would like to discover La Maison d'Été?
Contact us

La Maison d’Été

La Maison d’Été

Brigitte BaranèsBrigitte Baranès

Une maison posée sur une plage sauvage, ombragée de filaos… L’écume des brisants s’échouant sur la barrière de corail… L’Océan pour seul horizon...

 

Puis il est un jour où les rêves se vivent… C’est au terme d’un long voyage, de mers en océans, que j’ai trouvé la Maison d’Été. Hasard ou destinée ? C’était elle, cette maison dont j’avais toujours rêvée, mon «campement» sur le lagon, comme l’on dit à l’Île Maurice.

 

Depuis un an, la Maison d’Été est mon point d’ancrage, mon port d’attache où jour après jour, je tisse des liens indéfectibles avec cette île à nulle autre pareille. Sa nature généreuse, ses villages aux noms si poétiques, les sourires des Mauriciens me transportent à chaque instant.

Leur gentillesse légendaire, l’Art de vivre des mauriciens, le métissage des cultures se reflètant dans leur douceur de vivre, me portent aux confins du paradis tel que je l’avais imaginé depuis ma plus tendre enfance. Il faut vivre ses rêves et rêver sa vie…

Un bonheur que je vis désormais à La Maison d’Été !

Brigitte Baranès

 

 

 

 

 

Il est des rêves que
l’on fait un jour...